

72nd ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF LOCAL DENTAL COMMITTEES THURSDAY 8 – FRIDAY 9 JUNE 2023

LDC Conference Office Bearers election results

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR-ELECT (TO CHAIR THE CONFERENCE IN 2025)

To attend LDC Conference Agenda Committee meetings, and the Conference itself, for three years as Chair-Elect, Chair and Immediate Past Chair. The Chair Elect will also be required to attend other meetings, including the LDC Officials' Day and the Scottish LDC Conference. All travel, expenses and loss of earnings can be claimed from the LDC Conference Fund when attending meetings sanctioned by the LDC Conference Committee. The Chair and Chair-elect are also ex-officio members of the British Dental Guild.

The Chair-Elect position received three nominations and an election was held. The successful candidate was Charles Daniels from Tees Local Dental Committee.

2. ELECTION OF AN HONORARY TREASURER

Present Treasurer: Peter Hodgkinson - elected in 2019

As stated in Conference Standing Orders: it shall be the duty of the Honorary Treasurer to receive monies forming the Conference Fund and to hold and disburse such monies in accordance with the instructions of the Annual Conference. He/she shall prepare and submit such accounts as the Conference shall require.

The Treasurer attends and reports to LDC Conference Agenda Committee meetings and the Conference itself. Travel, expenses and loss of earnings are payable by the LDC Conference Fund.

The Honorary Treasurer position was open to nominations but was not contested, meaning that the sole candidate (the existing Treasurer), Peter Hodgkinson, of Birmingham Local Dental Committee, was re-elected unopposed.

3. ELECTION OF TWO HONORARY AUDITORS

Required to liaise with the LDC Conference Honorary Treasurer concerning the annual accounts. Travel, expenses and loss of earnings payable by the LDC Conference Fund as sanctioned by the LDC Conference Committee.

Present Auditors: Jonathan Randall and Martin Dyer

The two Honorary Auditor positions were open to nominations but were not contested, meaning that the two candidates, Shiv Pabary of North Tyne LDC and Jonathan Randall of Bedfordshire LDC, were elected unopposed.

4. ELECTION OF ONE CONFERENCE REPRESENTATIVE TO THE GENERAL DENTAL PRACTICE COMMITTEE

Elected Representatives:

| Roger Levy | 3 years ending 2023 |
|---------------|---------------------|
| Agi Tarnowski | 3 years ending 2024 |
| Stuart Allan | 3 years ending 2025 |

ONE VACANCY (3 years ending 2026)

The GDPC representatives elected at Conference are expected to attend the three GDPC meetings which take place throughout the year at BDA HQ. There are three Conference representatives, one is elected each year to the GDPC on a three-year rolling basis. Travel and expenses to cover attendance at meetings is claimed from the BDA. Loss of income can be claimed from the Treasurer of the Annual Conference.

The Conference Representative to the General Dental Practice Committee position was open to nominations but was not contested, meaning that the sole candidate, Roger Levy of Enfield & Haringey LDC was elected unopposed.

5. ELECTION OF MEMBER TO CONFERENCE AGENDA COMMITTEE

Current Members:

Elected 2020 - 23 – Zoe Connelly, Wakefield Local Dental Committee Elected 2021 - 24 – Russell Gidney, Gwent Local Dental Committee Elected 2022 - 25 – Judith Husband, Northamptonshire Local Dental

Nominations sought for the following:

One member to serve from 2023 to 2026

Further details about the posts:

Information concerning the duties of elected members to the LDC Conference Agenda Committee

At each Annual Conference one person shall be elected to the Conference Agenda Committee to hold office from the end of the Conference at which he is elected for a period of three years. Nominations shall be made from the floor.

The Agenda Committee consists of the Chair, Chair-Elect and Immediate Past Chair of the Annual Conference, the Honorary Treasurer, the Chair of the GDPC, and three Local Dental Committee representatives - members of Conference who are not members of the GDPC at the time of election.

Duties of the Agenda Committee, as set down in standing orders:

- to settle the order of the agenda for the Annual or any Special Conference
- to make recommendations to the Conference as to the conduct of the business and Conference arrangements generally
- to ensure that Conference resolutions are considered expeditiously by the GDPC or other appropriate bodies
- to report to the next Annual Conference

The Agenda Committee position was open to nominations but was not contested, meaning that the sole candidate, Zoe Connelly of Wakefield LDC was elected unopposed.

6. ELECTION OF MEMBER TO BRITISH DENTAL GUILD BOARD OF MANAGERS

Elected in 2019 - 23 S Pabary

Elected in 2020 - 24 M R H Haigh

Elected in 2021 - 25 H Jones

Elected in 2022 – 26 J Randall

Representatives of the British Dental Guild attend two meetings a year at the BDA London Office. Travel and sessional expenses can be claimed when attending these meetings, as sanctioned by the LDC Conference Committee.

One member to serve from 2023 to 2027.

The British Dental Guild position was open to nominations but was not contested, meaning that the sole candidate, Shiv Pabary from North Tyne LDC was elected unopposed.